- Posts: 11
- Thank you received: 0
Invergarry Inverness–Shire highland village Invergarry lies South of Fort Augustus on the A82 Loch Ness road and runs along the west shore of Loch Oich and then the east shore of Loch Lochy, till it reaches Spean Bridge.
Here the A82 continues south to Fort William, while the A86 branches east through Glen Spean to join the A9 Perth to Inverness and Kingussie.
All along this route are many opportunities to get off the beaten track and explore huge chunks of real wilderness, deserted since the Clearances, and full of bloody history. The old village of Invergarry stands where the A82 turns west to meet the A87 the village is ideally situated to explore the highlands, particularly the route west through GlenGarry, here you can find the Invergarry Community Centre and the Heritage Centre, it is an ideal base for both walkers, fisherman, with accommodation to suit all pockets from Bed and Breakfast, Hotels, Hostels, Camping and Caravanning to Self Catering, Invergarry lies in the hart of some of the most spectacular scenery in Scotland, to the west the road runs up along a richly wooded glen which runs along the river Garry, green with birch trees.
Loch Garry has nearly doubled in length due to the hydro electric scheme from here the road turns north over the hills into Glen Loyne to meet the road from Invermoriston, with accommodation to suit all pockets from Bed and Breakfast, Hotels, Hostels, Camping and Caravanning to Self Catering, and continues by Loch Cluanie, Glen, Shiel, and Loch Duich to Loch Alsh.
To the north of Invergarry on the shores of Loch Oich is the well of heads, this is a natural spring above this spring is a monument it was erected in 1812 by MacDonnell of Glengarry to commemorate his kin, it commemorates a deed of revgeance inflicted by the orders of one of his ancestors in the early 17th century, Keppoch chief of a branch of the McDonnell Clan sent his two sons to be Educated in France, after the Chief died his seven brothers took charge of the Estate, the two boys returned home to be promptly murdered by there uncles. The family Bard had the murderers slain and washed their heads in the spring before presenting them to the feet of the Noble Chief of Glengarry Castle, above the spring the monument inscribed in Gaelic, Latin, French, and in English the deed of Ample and Summery Vengeance.
Today the ruins of Invergarry Castle lie south of Loch Oich. Bonny Prince Charlie visited the Castle before and after the battle of Culloden, when the jacobites were defeated hunting the prince down the Duke of Cumberland burnt the Castle to the ground in revenge. In 1822 the name Glengarry was applied to a bonnet adopted by the MacDonnell clan after it was popularized during a royal visit to Edinburgh. Glen Garry is now virtually deserted but was once home to some 5,000 people who were driven out during the infamous Highland Clearances in the 19th century.
The road passes the tiny hamlet of Tomdoun, once the junction of the main road to Skye, until the massive post-war hydroelectric schemes changed the landscape. Experienced hill walkers can still follow the old route to Skye, through Glen Kingie, along Loch Hourn and then across the wild Knoydart peninsula till they reach the tiny settlement of Inverie. From here a little ferry runs twice a day on Mon-Wed and Fri to Mallaig. Further north are the remoter, lesser known lochs of Loch Garry and Loch Arkaig. There are few habitations here, and the wilder mountains round these lochs are empty and deserted. Still further north and west the tiny roads at last run out; beyond is the famously rugged wilderness region of Knoydart.